Review: Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Cleansing Foam

Leave a comment

June 30, 2012 by Cassy

Did I ever tell you guys that I love, love Shiseido?  Well, I don’t (at least not yet).  I actually got a couple of the Shiseido White Lucent products to try at work, so I thought I’d review one here.  I’ll get to the set eventually, but my skin’s been feeling super dry after these tests so I’ll wait on that.  The White Lucent products are quite old products, but they’re the supposedly the best, at least that’s what we’re going to find out.  I mean, there must be something good going on if this product is still available after all those years, right?

Safety (4/5):  PEG-6, PEG-32, PEG-60, and fragrance.  I cringe when I see PEGs but I know it’s difficult to avoid in order to formulate a decent product.  I was happy to see lauric acid as an ingredient since that helps with your body’s defense against fungus, bacteria, and viruses.

Efficacy (3/5):  You know, I really should take a before and after pic.  This product claims to brighten, moisturize, and soften my skin, but I only see the effects of the latter.  I didn’t notice any difference in my complexion.  The product didn’t moisturize, in fact it left my skin SUPER dry.  I can feel the tautness when I try to talk after I used the cleanser.  Maybe I just needed to use this with their moisturizer.  Anyway, my skin is 10x softer after using this product and it lasts throughout the day.

Overall (8/10):  I love the smell and it didn’t irritate my skin.  My boyfriend also complimented on how good it smells. The foam isn’t as “foamy” but this does a good job of removing makeup at the end of the night.  The product is formulated with animal byproducts, but I love that the ingredient list is so simple and short.  This is made in Japan and I think there’s a misconception that Japanese products are higher quality and works better, but I don’t think that’s true in this case.  I also don’t love the price.

Total Score:  15/20 – Meh.  I’ll go with my regular botanical cleanser that does the job at a fraction of the price.  Then I’ll use a brightening cream if I wanted to brighten up.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

