GURLLLLLLLLLLL, That Brush Be Dirttttyyyyyy

2

July 1, 2012 by Cassy

Excuse my crappy title.  I was going for pirate talk, but I think I got confused.

You know when was the last time I cleaned my cosmetic brushes?  Wrong.  I have NEVER, ever cleaned my brushes because I just use the anti-bacterial spray Sephora sells in their store.  You’re probably thinking, “but that’s totally not enough.”  And you’re totally right.  So I took some pictures of how I was instructed to clean my brushes by a good friend of mine.  By the way, if you don’t have any friends to show you, just use Google!

Step 1:  Wet and lather.  That’s right, wet those bristles with warm water, and lather them up in your hands with your face cleanser real good.  If you’re using an expensive cleanser (who isn’t?) and don’t want to waste it on your brushes, go for a mild shampoo or hand soap.  If your cleanser has those micro-beads or whatchamacallit, use your sister’s/boyfriend’s/mom’s cleanser instead.

Step 2:  Rinse and repeat.  Run the brushes under the water and squeeze from handle to brush tips.  If the water is clear, you’re good to go.  Keep rinsing and lathering if there’s still a lot of color.

Step 3:  Relax.  Rest your brushes on a hand towel.  Keep away from children and pets.  The brushes will usually dry completely in 2 days so plan ahead.

That’s it.  Peace.

2 thoughts on “GURLLLLLLLLLLL, That Brush Be Dirttttyyyyyy

  1. Calosini says:

    I never used to do this and only recently started – I also find if you wash them in the evening the brushes are good to go the following morning. :)
    Great post!

    • PB Blog says:

      Thanks for the tip! I’m now determined to wash my brushes every month. It’s really not that time consuming, I don’t know why I’ve always been putting it off.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

