REVIEW: Nature’s Gate Avocado Night Cream

Leave a comment

July 10, 2012 by Cassy

This was a product that my coworker recommended to me, and I guess she did a really good job marketing it because two other people in my department bought it as well.  I used it for a little bit more than a week, so I thought I’d write a review about it since I haven’t blogged in a couple of days.

Safety (5/5): The ingredient list is great.  My only concern is the Phenoxyethanol, but only because there are limited restriction on its use.  Since this ingredient appeared at the very end of the list of ingredients, the amount must be very small so it shouldn’t be an issue.  I also like that there are a lot of great botanical extracts like White Tea, Olive, Aloe, Argan, Flaxseed, Orange, Bergamot, Sage, Rosemary, Blackberry and Acerola.  Oh, and there’s Maca root and the obvious Avocado.  So many good stuff in this little thing!

Efficacy (4/5):  The product description says that this will “hydrate and replenish tired, dry skin.”  I totally agree.  After applying it at night, my skin feels firmer and softer the next morning.  The second claim Nature’s Gate made on this product is that the Maca will promote “a radiant, even looking skin tone.”  Um…not so much.  I feel that while my skin is hydrated and looks more lively, the shine and skin tone has not improved all that much.  I used my mouth area to compare the results, but I haven’t noticed a lot of improvement.  However, I have hope for this product.

Overall (9/10):  I really like the ingredient list and the company’s policy on being free of Parabens, Phthalates, Synthetic Fragrance, PEG, Mineral Oil, Petrolatum, and animal derived ingredients.  This is also dermatologist tested, so I’m assuming they did some kind of allergy test for people with sensitive skin.  I love that I don’t have to use a ton of this stuff either, so this jar might last me for a few months. If you look at the third picture below, that is already way too much because this stuff spreads (like butter)! I have been using only half of that at the most. Two complaints I have about this, though.  First, it is greasy.  My coworker likes to call it “buttery”, but applying it before bedtime and feeling my pillowcase sticking to my face does not make me happy.  However, I found a way around this by applying it directly on my face after I shower.  This lets the product dries a little so when I’m in bed, it doesn’t feel as greasy.  The second complaint is the packaging.  I know the company’s being green and all, but for such a great product with so many good ingredients, it doesn’t hurt to put it in a better jar with prettier labels, does it?  If I’m paying $16.99 (MSRP, but I used a coupon) for it, at least give me something pretty to look at.

Total:  18/20.  Worth it!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

