Gluten-Free Products

2

January 28, 2013 by Cassy

Last week, I started hearing a lot of buzz about gluten-free this and gluten-free that.  So I just wanted to write a post about what is “gluten-free”.  From a marketing standpoint, gluten-free is used to target a specific segment (those with celiac disease).  Without going into a lot of details, celiac disease is a condition that damages the lining of the small intestine and prevents it from absorbing parts of food. The damage is due to a reaction to eating gluten, a protein that is found in wheat, barley, rye, and maybe oats, etc.  There are a lot of substitutes and gluten-free grains out there (see here for a list).

That being said, were you also under the assumption that gluten-free products only make sense if these products are INGESTED?  As in:  they have to be consumed through your digestive tract in order for it to be an issue!  Why, then, do I see so many cosmetics and personal care products being branded as “gluten-free”?  Does that really matter?  Unless I’m eating my makeup and lotions (okay, so maybe some lipsticks/lipbalms make their way to your stomach…the amount should be insignificant anyway), how is normal absorption through the skin suppose to give you celiac disease symptoms?  Are people just too cautious?  Maybe I’m just not getting it because I’m not a sufferer.  But I’m here to help, so here are three skin products that are gluten-free:

  1. AminoGenesis Simply One 10 in 1 Skin Perfecting Treatment (although I’m not sure if their Vitamin E and Glucosamine come from plants/algae source, at least they’re GF!)
  2. KaplanMD Clinical Skin Therapy
  3. Pangea Organics Egyptian Calendula & Blood Orange Facial CleanserImage
2 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Products

  1. thglutenfree says:

    Hi,
    thank you for posting some gluten free products!

    I am coeliac, and a very sensitive one at that. Gluten in cosmetics do affect my symptoms. Recently I stayed at the Shangri La hotel in Sydney and had a reaction to their in-house conditioner that contained wheat (for some reason).

    One reason we react may be the handling. If I use a conditioner or a body lotion with gluten, it gets on my hands. Later I might touch my sandwich or even my lips, and voila you have cross-contamination. It’s as easy as that. As far as absorption through skin is concerned I would assume that applies less to coeliacs and more to those with a gluten allergy. You are correct in saying that gluten must pass through the digestive tract in order for symptoms to manifest. However, very little gluten will do.

    It’s brilliant to see focus on gluten free products, we (coeliacs etc) really need the awareness and accessibility! Thanks :)

    -Kristine

    • PB Blog says:

      Hi! Thanks for posting. I wasn’t aware that even a tiny contamination could pose such issues, but that is also true if you’re allergic to nuts/shellfish/etc. I guess a lot of people (me included) need to be more educated on how difficult a gluten-free diet is, especially with wheat being used so widely in every products.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

